The government has decided to set up two new ministries by issuing a special gazette notification by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

According to government sources, the two new ministries are named as the Ministry of Technology and the Ministry of Public Security.

According to the Extraordinary Gazette Notification, the Ministry of Defence has the Office of the Chief of Defence Staff, the Armed Forces, the State Intelligence Service, the Coast Guard of Sri Lanka, the Sir John Kotelawala Defence University, and the Defence Services Command College.

Rear Admiral Dr Sarath Weeraskera, State Minister of Provincial Councils and Local Government, is tipped to be sworn in as a Cabinet Minister for this Public Security Ministry post, sources said.

The Telecommunications Regulatory Commission of Sri Lanka and its affiliates under the Ministry of Technology, Information and Communication Technology Agency, Sri Lanka Computer Emergency Response Forum, Sri Lanka Telecom and its subsidiaries, Industrial Technology Lanka,

 Sri Lanka Standards Institution, and Department of Registration of Persons, to name a few.


Meanwhile, the Sri Lanka Police, the National Police Training Institute, the Department of Civil Defence, and the Department of Multi-Purpose Development Task Force have been transferred to the Ministry of Public Security.

According to this special gazette notification, the Sri Lanka Police has been removed from the State Ministry of Defence, Home Affairs and Disaster Management under Chamal Rajapaksa and has been transferred to the new Ministry of Public Security.