Latest News

The Lotus Tower, South Asia’s largest tower, was declared open by President Maithripala Sirisena a short while ago.

The International Day for the Preservation of the Ozone Layer was commemorated under the patronage of President Maithripala Sirisena at Sri Lanka Foundation Institute today (16).

The ceremony was organized by the Ministry of Mahaweli development and Environment on the sideline of the World Ozone Day and the 32nd anniversary of the Montreal Protocol.

The keynote address was delivered by the Vice Chancellor of the University of Moratuwa Prof. K. K. C. K. Perera under the theme of “Kigali Amendments to the Montreal Protocol and its impact on the Climate Change”.

A First Day cover was issued to mark the completion of 30 years after Sri Lanka became a signatory of the Montreal Protocol.

All the countries including Sri Lanka which are parties to the Montreal Protocol celebrate the World Ozone Day on September 16 every year.

Sri Lanka as a developing nation is at the forefront of preserving the Ozone layer and a leading country to eliminate ozone-depleting substances. As per the Montreal Protocol Sri Lanka has pledged to reduce using depleting substances by 35% by 2020, 67.5% by 2025 and 100% by 2030.

State Minister of Mahaweli Development and Environment AjithMannapperuma, Secretary to the President Udaya R. Seneviratne, Secretary to the Ministry of Mahaweli Development and EnvironmentAnuraDissanayake, the Deputy Resident Representative of the United Nations Development Programme in Sri Lanka Faiza Effendi and several other dignitaries were present at the commemoration ceremony.

The State Literary Awards Ceremony 2019, an occasion to give due accolades to the literati who have enriched the field of literature in Sri Lanka, was held under the patronage of President Maithripala Sirisena at the Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall yesterday (12th) afternoon.

Many authors received awards for their invaluable contribution and excellence for the advancement of the literature in the year 2018.

In addition, the President presented “Sahityaratna” lifetime award to Prof. Walter Marasinghe, Mr. Ayyathurai Santhan and Ms. Kamala Wijeratne for their great service towards the advancement of the local literature field in Sinhala, Tamil and English languages respectively.

The award for the best independent Sinhala novel was received by Author Ms. Virajini Tennakoon for “Makaranandaya” novel.

Mr. Elmo Jayewardene was vested with the award for the best independent English novel for his literary work, “Kakiyan”.

Writer Mr. A.S. Uthayan’s “Aluwarakarei” received the award for the best independent Tamil novel in this ceremony.

In the meantime, Mr. Nandana Weerasinghe has won the State Literary Award for the ”Kshana Niyama” best poetry award of the year.

The awards ceremony is organized annually by the State Literary Advisory Council, the Sri Lanka Arts Council, the Department of Cultural Affairs and the Ministry of Cultural Affairs.

Minister Mr. Sajith Premadasa, the Secretary to the Cultural Affairs Mr. Barnad Wasantha, Director of the Cultural Affairs Department Ms. Anusha Gokula Franando, Prof. Ariyaratne Kaluarachchi, Chairman of the Sri Lanka Arts Council, Prof. Samantha Herath, Chairman of the State Literary Advisory Council and a group of scholars and artists were also present at the awards ceremony.

Page 5 of 21

Latest News

Decisions taken by cabinet of Ministers on 10.12.2019

Dec 13, 2019
1. Issuing rice stocks, purchased under the government paddy purchasing program…

Media should uphold national image to the world – President

Dec 13, 2019
Addressing the owners of the country’s major news media outlets yesterday, President…

Afghan Ambassador called on President

Dec 13, 2019
Ambassador of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan to Sri Lanka M. Ashraf Haidari met with…

Australia extends highest support to Sri Lanka

Dec 09, 2019
The Australian High Commissioner in Sri Lanka David Holly called on President Goatabaya…

Decisions are taken by cabinet of Ministers on 04.12.2019

Dec 05, 2019
Decisions are taken by cabinet of Ministers on 04.12.2019


Dec 05, 2019
The attention of the Ministry of Foreign Relations has been drawn to remarks made by…

President meets PCoI probing Easter Sunday attacks

Dec 05, 2019
President Gotabaya Rajapaksa met with members of the Presidential Commission of Inquiry…

UAE and New Zealand envoys affirm their countries’ commitment to enhance bilateral relations with Sri Lanka

Dec 04, 2019
The Ambassador of the United Arab Emirates in Sri Lanka Ahmad Ali Al Mualla paid a…

PM’s Public Relations Division opens

Dec 04, 2019
The Prime Minister’s Office inaugurated a Public Relations Division near Temple Trees,…

Pakistan Foreign Minister calls on President

Dec 02, 2019
Shad Mahmood Qureshi, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Pakistan called on President…