Latest News

 The State Timber Corporation won the gold medal for the national business section at the National Business Excellence Award 2018 which is organized by the National Chamber of Commerce. President Maithripala Sirisena received the award as the subject minister at the President’s office yesterday(12).

This is the third time where the State Timber Corporation has won this award and the President appreciated their services.
The chairmen of State Timber Corporation Shantha Bandara presented this award to the President while the acting director M.Y.T. Pawara Kumara officers were present at this event.
Share This Post

“Harvest 2018” organized by the Minister of Agriculture with the intention to build a modern culture in agriculture is opened by President Maithripala Sirisena to at Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference (BMICH) yesterday (11).

This exhibition is held for the public from 11- 16 from 9.00 a.m to 9.00 p.m and it is comprised of exhibition stalls, food stalls, fruits and vegetable stalls, and many other sections.
A number of local and foreign institutes are gathering in this exhibition and the key objectives of this exhibition are to introduce modern technological methods used for the development of agriculture to the Sri Lankan farmer community and it is expected to create a great demand for the vegetables and fruits cultivated in the Island in the foreign countries.
The President opened the exhibition and engaged in a friendly conversation with the office bearers.
Mahinda Amaraweera, Duminda Dissanayake, and the Secretary of Ministry of Agriculture K.D.S. Ruwanchandra and other officers were present in this event.

In view of producing the skilled youth required for the labor market which is being rapidly transformed with the modern technology, the Ministry of Skills Development and Vocational Training has been provided the opportunity to follow the full-time and part-time vocational training courses, with free of charge for the students who sat for the G.C.E. (O/L).

This will assist to obtain vocational education, from National Vocational Qualification (NVQ) certificates levels up to technology degrees. Today the awareness notices has been distributed to the students who sat for the G.C.E. O /L.

Therefore, Ministry requires to apply applications from government approved and government registered training institutions located island wide. From this 2057 courses can be applied under 28 vocational trades.

For further information contact website and the Telephone No: 011-2081808

The “Wedasa 2018” medical exhibition organized due to the completion of 25 years for the faculty of Medicine University of Sri Jayawardenapura was opened under the patronage of President Maithripala Sirisena at Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall, Colombo (BMICH) today (04).

The ceremony organized by the Shathi Foundation to invoke merits to more than thousand national heroes including Weera Keppetipola who sacrificed their lives in the freedom struggle in Uva Wellassa which commemorates its 200thAnniversary was held at Seruwila Buddhist Centre, Colombo 7 under the patronage of President Maithripala Sirisena yesterday (25).

Page 9 of 9

Latest News

"Sambudu Vandana" will be held on Sunday 

May 18, 2019
Sambudu Vandana” Vesak Day Celebration will be held at Temple Trees on May 19 from 5.00…

President’s Vesak message

May 18, 2019
President’s Vesak message

Hon. Prime Minister’s Vesak Day Message

May 18, 2019
Hon. Prime Minister’s Vesak Day Message

U.S. reiterates strong support for Sri Lanka's fight against terrorism

May 17, 2019
The United States reiterated its strong support for Sri Lanka in its fight against…

Majority of Zahran group nabbed - State Defence Minister

May 16, 2019
A majority of the Zahran group linked to the Easter Sunday terror attacks have been…

President returns after successful visit to China

May 16, 2019
President Maithripala Sirisena returned to the Island today (16) after successfully…

Speech of HE the President Maithripala Sirisena at the Conference on Dialogue of Asian Civilizations held on 15 May 2019 in Bejing, China.

May 15, 2019
Speech of HE the President Maithripala Sirisena at the Conference on Dialogue of Asian…

‘Let’s stand together for the country’, national program in Ampara

May 13, 2019
The second phase of ‘Ekata Sitimu’; President’s message to the East

26th commemoration of former President Ranasinghe Premadasa held under the patronage of President

May 02, 2019
The 26th commemoration ceremony of late President Ranasinghe Premadasa, was held under…